“Competition maybe the cause; 
frightfully good fun is the result.”

Chas Peel


QLD States 4.jpg
















































































Sorrento Sailing and Couta Boat Club from 9-11 February 2018.

Winner: Charles Weatherly / Scorpion / Ballaarat Yacht  Club.

9 Jubilees comprising 5 from Ballarat, 1 from Sydney, 1 from Queensland and 2 from Sorrento. The series consisted of 7 races with final results convincingly going to Charlie Weatherly of Ballarat sailing ‘Scorpion J133’ (8 points). Second was David Bray, Sydney sailing ‘Wataworrie J120’ (13 points) and third was Bob McDonald of Sorrento ‘Jubilant J54’ (17 points).

Lady Skippers trophy was awarded to Leonie Crosbie, Ballarat ‘Jemima J116’ (20 points) and 4th in the series. Leonie’s rival Allison Earley of Queensland sailing ‘Stella J123’ (30 points) and 5th overall.

The series was sailed in mostly ideal conditions with the heaviest being on the 2nd day and above 20 knots with heavier winds predicted in the afternoon.

At times the lighter wind patches combined with an outgoing tide were a challenge if you picked the wrong side of the course.

The race management was excellent and Fred Allen as Race Officer and the Sorrento team were able to present a professional and very accommodating experience both on and off the water.


Our thanks to SSCBC for hosting this event and congratulations to Charlie and his crew for a decisive win.

Click here for the full race by race results and the overall series results courtesy of the SSCBC.

2020 Queensland Jubilee Championships - A Success!

Nine Jubilee One-Design Class Yachts took part in the Inaugural Queensland Championships hosted by the Tingira Boat Club. The fleet consisting of both wooden and fibreglass boats were all from the Southern Moreton Bay Islands and Redlands Coast area.
The regatta consisting of 6 races was held over Saturday and Sunday with three races each day. The series was convincingly won by Isobel J124 on 7 points, skippered by Bruce Legg and crewed by Ian Waller-Wilkinson and Peter Fox.
Second was Andiamo (J136) on 16 points, skippered by Alison Early and crewed by Dave Gemmell (owner) and Barry Rawlinson.
In third place with 26 points was Stella (J123) skippered by Euan MacDonald and crewed by Tony Harland.

Alison Early earned herself the Female Skipper Trophy for her efforts on the tiller of Andiamo.
Mike King sailing Nereid (J39) won ‘The Pump’ trophy which is dedicated to the wooden boat with the fastest times.

On Saturday the weather gods favoured the fleet with a fairly steady moderate easterly breeze with occasional gusts to keep things interesting. With the course set mainly in a south to north direction there was not the opportunity to fly spinnakers but sailing in the lee of Macleay Island meant that the water was relatively flat. This allowed for fast reaching and close-hauled fetches which meant the three races were run over the full course within the specified sailing times.

Racing between the boats was very close and sometimes fierce but sailed with a great competitive spirit.
On Sunday the conditions were quite different with a flukey light breeze from the north east. This allowed the use of spinnakers but courses had to be shortened to allow for the lazy wind and the tidal current. The three races on Sunday were all shortened to keep within the time limits. Although the pace was slower than on Saturday, there was still good natured rivalry between the competitors.


The Tingira Club volunteer officials did a fantastic job of administrating the races.
Trophies and prizes were presented to the winning crews at the Club on Sunday afternoon and appreciation certificates were presented to the volunteer race officials and safety crews.
Sailing Master Ian Waller-Wilkinson was very pleased with the outcome of the weekend especially with the team work shown by our Tingira volunteers to host a most successful regatta.


Australian Jubilee Championship Huntingfield Cup Regatta 2018

Albert Park Yacht Club hosted the event that was well attended from both clubs. Jemima and Chardonnay travelled down from Ballaarat Yacht Club to join Wataworrie and Pegasus making 4 boats.

The teams were APYC Swans, APYC Peggy Gals, BYC Won and BYC Two. 20 -30 people enjoyed excellent conditions, tricky wind shifts a brief stormy blow and continuous sunshine throughout the day.

‘Somehow’ the teams were organised by the team captains, everyone had numerous opportunities to crew and skipper. It was a great opportunity to compare rigging, which boat sailed well and to generally enjoy good company and sailing.

The Club spirit was evident when Wataworrie dropped her centre plate and many hands assisted and provided ideas and a repair was made on the spot.

Overall best performing boat was Jemima.


Congratulations to Albert Park Yacht Club for taking out the trophy, on count back. A model size trophy was presented to the winners.


Thankyou to John Brewer for crafting the trophy and to everyone who attended.


Jonah Moloney Wise filmed the day using his drone and the footage will be available through the Jubilee Yacht Association website, thanks Jonah.


2021 Rudder Shield 
2nd May

Albert Park Logo.png
JA Linacre Memorial Trophy
Victorian State Titles 2017

Ballarat Yacht Club, March 2017.

Winner: Steve Wright / Renaissance / Cronulla Sailing CLub

On Saturday and Sunday the 11th and 12th of March, the Ballaarat Yacht Club hosted the Victorian State annual championships for the Jubilee class one design yachts sailing on Lake Wendouree competing for the J.A. Linacre Memorial Trophy.


Eleven yachts competed with competitors from Cronulla and Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Clubs in NSW, Sorrento and Ballaarat Yacht Clubs. The series of five races was dedicated to former club member, Noel John Edwards who has passed away on
3 March 2017.

Racing on Saturday commenced in shifting light winds which tested all crews. Sunday’s winds were stronger with up to 15knots but the variation in speed and direction still tested the skippers.


The Ballaarat Yacht Club is a favoured venue particularly for spectators as they are able to enjoy the hospitality of the club facilities and also be up close to the on water action whereas most seaside sailing is a distance off shore and out of view.

Click here for the race results.

Australian Jubilee Championship Huntingfield Cup Regatta 2017

Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club, Pittwater, NSW 2017.

Winner: Charles Weatherly / Scorpion / Ballaarat Yacht  Club.

15 Jubilees graced the picturesque Sydney Pittwater for the 2017 Nationals. Royal Prince Alfred yacht Club were superb hosts once again for  the series of races that determines the nations best Jubilee skipper, crew and boat on the day.

Racing conditions were perfect and the results could be monitored  daily online,  courtesy of the superb race organisation by RPAYC.

Click here for the full race by race results and the overall series results courtesy of the RPAYC.

Click here for a series of fabulous photos courtesy of the RPAYC.

Click here for more photos and reportage.

JA Linacre Memorial Trophy
Victorian State Titles 2016

Ballarat Yacht Club, March 2016.

Here are some fabulous shots of the event!

Winner: Steve Wright/Renaissance/Cronulla Sailing CLub

Australian Jubilee Championship Huntingfield Cup Regatta 2016

Royal Brighton Yacht Club, February 2016.

Winner: Steve Wright / Renaisance /Cronulla Sailing Club