The Jubilee One-Design Class yacht is a tribute to her designers and can proudly stand among the most versatile and enjoyable yachts in the world.


AGM 2020

Thursday November 12th 7.00pm 


via ZOOM

2020 Queensland Jubilee Championships - A Success!

Nine Jubilee One-Design Class Yachts took part in the Inaugural Queensland Championships hosted by the Tingira Boat Club. The fleet consisting of both wooden and fibreglass boats were all from the Southern Moreton Bay Islands and Redlands Coast area.
The regatta consisting of 6 races was held over Saturday and Sunday with three races each day. The series was convincingly won by Isobel J124 on 7 points, skippered by Bruce Legg and crewed by Ian Waller-Wilkinson and Peter Fox.
Second was Andiamo (J136) on 16 points, skippered by Alison Early and crewed by Dave Gemmell (owner) and Barry Rawlinson.
In third place with 26 points was Stella (J123) skippered by Euan MacDonald and crewed by Tony Harland.

Alison Early earned herself the Female Skipper Trophy for her efforts on the tiller of Andiamo.
Mike King sailing Nereid (J39) won ‘The Pump’ trophy which is dedicated to the wooden boat with the fastest times.

On Saturday the weather gods favoured the fleet with a fairly steady moderate easterly breeze with occasional gusts to keep things interesting. With the course set mainly in a south to north direction there was not the opportunity to fly spinnakers but sailing in the lee of Macleay Island meant that the water was relatively flat. This allowed for fast reaching and close-hauled fetches which meant the three races were run over the full course within the specified sailing times.

Racing between the boats was very close and sometimes fierce but sailed with a great competitive spirit.
On Sunday the conditions were quite different with a flukey light breeze from the north east. This allowed the use of spinnakers but courses had to be shortened to allow for the lazy wind and the tidal current. The three races on Sunday were all shortened to keep within the time limits. Although the pace was slower than on Saturday, there was still good natured rivalry between the competitors.


The Tingira Club volunteer officials did a fantastic job of administrating the races.
Trophies and prizes were presented to the winning crews at the Club on Sunday afternoon and appreciation certificates were presented to the volunteer race officials and safety crews.
Sailing Master Ian Waller-Wilkinson was very pleased with the outcome of the weekend especially with the team work shown by our Tingira volunteers to host a most successful regatta.


2021 State Titles
J.A Linacre Memorial Trophy Regatta

Save the dates:

March 20/21 and March 27/28 2021.


It has been proposed to hold our annual event at The Ballaarat Yacht Club over two weekends.

Visitors can enjoy Ballarat at its finest with Autumn being a beautiful time of year to visit.

All subject to social distancing requirements and availability of the club due to other events.

Watch this space.

Your Committee

Jubilee Yacht Association (Vic)

Are you a beginner? An experienced sailor? At school, retired or somewhere in between? An individual, couple or family looking to get on the water? Whatever your answer the Jubilee is the boat for you!

Holding 3-4 people, the Jubilee is a stable, all-weather 18 foot day boat, locally designed and made for Port Phillip Bay. It’s a one-design class and, although some are newer than others, the first one ever built is still sailing and still competitive on the water!


Meet some of the skippers


Join JYA or renew your membership for 2020
Presidents Report

If you missed the meeting, the minutes are now available.

The AGM 2019 Minutes.

c/- Ballarat Yacht Club

PO Box 2650  Bakery Hill VIC 3354


Registration Number A0038756
© 2016 Jubilee Yacht Association, Vic